Piper’s Mother

My mother, who washed my mouth out with soap once for saying, “Shut up!” to my sister, would have washed my mouth out with gasoline if she knew how foul my mouth was racially. She was under God the seed of my salvation in more ways than one. When our church voted not to admit blacks in 1963, when I was 17, my mother ushered the black guests at my sister’s wedding right into the main sanctuary herself because the ushers wouldn’t do it. I was on my way to redemption.

–John Piper
Racial Harmony and Interracial Marriage
January 15, 2005

Leave a comment

Filed under John Piper, racism, sermons

Leave a Reply

