“Babae, Don’t You See?”

While I was praying, Stephenie had a massive cerebral hemorrhage.  We rushed to the hospital.  I rode in the ambulance while our son Jaime and Ginny and Mincaye followed us in the car.  Grandfather Mincaye had never seen this type of vehicle with the flashing lights, didn’t understand why strangers had rushed into the house and grabbed Stephenie and hurried off with her.  Now he saw her at the hospital, lying on a gurney with a tube down her throat and needles in her arm, and he grabbed me and said, “Who did this to her?”  And I saw a look on his face that I’d seen before, and I knew that he’d be willing to kill again to save this granddaughter who he loved.

I didn’t know what to say, “I don’t know, Mincaye.  Nobody is doing this.”

And just like that, this savage from the jungles grabbed me again and said, “Babae, don’t you see?”

No, I didn’t see.  My heart was absolutely tearing apart; I didn’t know what was going on.

He said, “Babae, Babae, now I see it well.  Don’t you see?  God Himself is doing this.”

And I thought, what are you saying?

Mincaye started reaching out to all the people in the emergency room, saying, “People, people don’t you see?  God, loving Star, He’s taking her to live with him.”  And he said, “Look at me, I’m an old man; pretty soon I’m going to die too, and I’m going there.”  Then he said, with a pleading look on his face, “Please, please won’t you follow God’s trail too?  Coming to God’s place, Star and I will be waiting there to welcome you.”

–Steve Saint
Suffering and the Sovereignty of God (2006, p.119-120)
read 6-18-08

Leave a comment

Filed under sovereignty, Steve Saint

Leave a Reply

